Six Sigma is a data-driven methodology that seeks to improve business processes to deliver high-quality products or services. The goal is to recognize and then eliminate defects from business processes, such as manufacturing. Six Sigma uses many quality management programs, such as statistical analysis, to carry out the process. The Six Sigma process is defined sequentially and closely followed.
Six Sigma certifications include Yellow Belt, Green Belt, Black Belt and Master Black Belt.
This article will discuss a little about the green belt. The belt certification criteria vary from one organization to another. For example, an organization may only need to pass the exam for a Green Belt certificate, while other organizations may require work experience as well.
Green belts are operators working on Six Sigma projects while doing their work. The first level finishes when someone completes two weeks of training and passes the qualifying exam. This level is called the Green Belt that teaches all important methodologies. The Green Belt curriculum involves DMAIC which stands for five interconnected phases Define Measure Analyze Improve and Control. It defines their customers’ needs of the recommended products and services of the task boundaries and plots the flow of processes to improve the current methods. Measure performance by developing and collecting data from multiple sources and researching for deficiencies by comparing them with surveys. The Analyze stage bridges the gap between this method and the targeted results. Increase the working stage out of various solutions to redefine the previous process and deploy the implementation plan. The Control Stage teaches how to sustain newly introduced changes and maintain contemporary documentation and contemporary systems.
At the base level, the Green Belt certificate circuit is built on:
 the introduction of Six Sigma within an organization;
 understand organizational goals and six sigma projects;
 Concepts and shopping tools;
 DMAIC (Specify, Measure, Analyze, Fix and Control).
DMAIC is the core of all Six Sigma projects and, thus, the core of all Six Sigma certificate courses. The steps will be briefly discussed below.
a. Define
The reason for this progression is to characterize and depict the segments and process limits; recognize proprietors, clients, and different partners; characterize and design venture degree and measurements, and characterize group flow and devices.
b. Measuring
This step involves identifying and measuring the gap between the current performance and the performance required. The measurement process is also assessed, to determine how accurately and precisely.
c. Analysis
This is a complex analytical tool, usually a fishbone diagram and a Pareto diagram, used to determine the root cause of elimination. The causes are listed and prioritized.
d. Fix It
After identifying and analyzing root issues, both are corrected or eliminated. Solutions identified. If the solution is clear, they are immediately implemented, otherwise, the detailed implementation plan is designed.
e. Control
After implementing the solution, the goal is to defend it. Sometimes, control plans are documented.
f. Bottom Line
Those who have Green Belt certification usually work under the supervision of Black Belt or Master Black Belt-certified software. Green Belt certification is most suitable for members of mid-level project management teams, operating management personnel, consultants, and engineers.